Ah, movies from my youth… Sometimes they’re seen and forgotten but every now and then there are certain movies that are so memorable that you just can’t help but feel that amazing sense of happy nostalgia that makes you long for the good ol’ days of childhood. ‘Honey, I Shrunk the Kids’ is definitely one of those movies that has always stayed with me because of it’s creativity and amazing visual breakthroughs. I was only eight when I saw the movie but I already knew it was something I was going to love and well, I guess I was right!

Wayne Szalinski, played by Rick Moranis, is an oddball and out of luck inventor who just isn’t having a good time lately. He’s temporarily separated from his wife and his pitch for his Shrink Ray is just not going the way he wanted. Now, this doesn’t sound like an amazing adventure movie just yet but don’t worry, it gets better and it all starts with a baseball.

Wayne’s kids are your are two of the typical archetypes for a children’s movie of the era: a teenage daughter who can’t wait to go to the dance and a nerdy son that wants to follow in his fathers footsteps. Did I forget anything? Ah yes, don’t forget about the trouble maker and the disinterested son because they’re living next door. One honest mistake with a baseball going through the Szalinski’s attic window leads to an accidental activation of the shrink ray and four children with nothing in common are thrust into an adventure that will change their lives and the lives of their families forever.

Once the children were “shrunk” you realize that this movie is not like anything else you’ve seen. The visual effects were nothing short of spectacular at it’s time of release and as an eight year old when I saw this movie in theatres my imagination opened up like fireworks going off on the forth of July. For me, many movies have offered a whole new light to perspectives and ‘Honey, I shrunk the Kids’ made me realize that size isn’t everything and that in the backyard there’s a whole new world to explore and all you have to do is look for it.

In this new world of gigantic sky scrapers made of grass and insects that could pass as Mammoth in size, the children learn that they will need each other if they want to survive and this isn’t just some cutesy Walt Disney feel good friendship, if these four kids can’t work together and build trust they will die because even a drop of water is deadly when you’re only 1/4 of an inch tall.

It’s a fantastical adventure that still manages to capture the attention and imagination of anyone I know who’s watched it over the years, the movie and its visuals seem to stand up pretty well compared to many movies that have come and gone, it’s managed to outlive the few sequels that were spawned and a television show that most people probably don’t even know existed. What small things were lacking in the plot were made up for by creating a vast new world for children to experience life in a way they may never have imagined. But don’t worry if you think this movie is only for kids because that nostalgia feeling I mentioned earlier, it’s sure is a good feeling.

Ah, this brings back memories… good memories. :)

Movie trailers were kind of different back then, weren't they?

Have you been to the 'Honey I Shrunk the Kids' Movie Set Adventure at Disney's Hollywood Studios?

  Show the poll results

You may also like...

Comments

  • Follow
    Share to:
    Alert message
  • Mar 31, 2014 @ 9:28 pm
    Congratulation for lens
  • asereht1970 Mar 31, 2014 @ 2:26 am
    I have watched this before and I really enjoyed it so when the other sequels came out (Honey, I Blew Up the Kids and Honey, We Shrunk Ourselves) I really took the time out to watch them too. But yesterday was a treat. When I got home, I found my twin 5 year old niece and nephew and their 7 year old brother watching this movie. So I sat and watched with them. They were so excited and keep on asking me what will happen next. I feel like I was back to my younger self again.
  • thegembank Mar 26, 2014 @ 5:02 pm
    this brings back memories... watching movies after school
  • Piper950 Mar 25, 2014 @ 5:49 am
    My kids love the "Honey" movies. Did not realise there was a them park . Perhaps one day.
  • JasonEaves Mar 23, 2014 @ 12:57 am
    That guy is a great actor! Nice lense.
  • Mar 22, 2014 @ 4:03 am
    very good and interesting
  • Merrci Mar 21, 2014 @ 10:04 pm
    Great review! Congrats on Review of the day! What a lovely way to start off your Squidoo adventure. Welcome.
  • ibidii Mar 21, 2014 @ 6:43 pm
    I actually liked the sequels as well as the first movie. I had not known there was a tv series! Great lens!
  • kiwinana71 Mar 21, 2014 @ 6:29 pm
    Very nice and interesting review, I enjoyed it. Had to smile about the front cover of the book I love those little guys walking across the noses. Precious picture. Thanks.
  • edvantageous Mar 21, 2014 @ 4:52 pm
    It's amazing to watch a movie like this again. At the time, the special effects were incredible but now we have such high expectations with all of our advanced computer graphics that it would be hard to go back...
  • CalobrenaOmai Mar 21, 2014 @ 4:32 pm
    I remember that movie from when I was little. Every weekend they would show this and some others during the summer. I've seen Shrunk the Kids, We Shrunk Ourselves and Blew Up the Kid [caused the baby to grow large]. The We Shrunk Ourselves was quite intriguing with my favorite moments being the one with the spider and quick fix first aid emergency. This always showed with the Goonies and some select others during the Summer. Thanks for the childhood flashback.
  • Ruthi Mar 21, 2014 @ 3:56 pm
    I had to chuckle when I came to visit your first article on Squidoo. (By the way, Welcome!) I loved this movie when it first came out and wished at the time I could shrink my kid and stepkids, ha!
  • campingman Mar 21, 2014 @ 2:57 pm
    Nice job on your lens. It's been many years since I saw the movie, but every time we go to Disneyworld, we have to go in to watch the 3 D version. Thanks for the memories
  • Scottf13 Mar 21, 2014 @ 1:11 pm
    This brings back a lot of memories, and an excellent lens. Thanks for sharing.
  • katiesnow Mar 21, 2014 @ 1:02 pm
    Great Lens, Congrats!
  • lazywrites Mar 21, 2014 @ 11:09 am
    Very nice review, now you got me curious about the film! Congratulations and welcome to squidoo!!! :)
  • grammieo Mar 21, 2014 @ 10:38 am
    Great review, I had forgotten about this movie and how much fun it was! Thanks!
  • fullofshoes Mar 21, 2014 @ 10:17 am
    Loved this movie - great review :)
  • tjhousel Mar 21, 2014 @ 9:41 am
    I love this movie. I remember watching it as a little kid. This summer while in Hollywood Studios in Disney, I went to the Honey I Shrunk the Kids jungle gym. Even though I am thirtysomething years old, I had a blast and later watched the movie with my daughter.
  • Sir_Daniel_UK Mar 21, 2014 @ 9:15 am
    Welcome!

    And a well written review of a movie I haven't seen in an age.
  • tonyleather Mar 21, 2014 @ 8:49 am
    Really loved this movie!
  • holisticwriter Mar 21, 2014 @ 8:46 am
    From watching the trailer above, I don't think I ever saw the actual movie. It is an interesting concept though. I am not sure I could survive watching all the dangers they have to get through before they get back to normal size. I assume :-) they DO get back to normal size.
  • DavidSiegel Mar 21, 2014 @ 11:25 pm
    Yes fortunately for the kids, they're all back to normal at the end. Wayne actually uses the sizing ray to enlarge their dinner at the end of the film which seem to be where they got the idea for the second movie. :p
  • rms Mar 21, 2014 @ 8:25 am
    Congratulations on being the featured Review of the Day!
  • dawnraeb Mar 20, 2014 @ 4:43 pm
    Very good first lens. Welcome. And now I want to see this movie again.
  • Susan52 Mar 20, 2014 @ 9:25 am
    This review does bring back memories! I haven't seen this movie in years. Your review makes me want to watch it again. Great job - and welcome to Squidoo!
  • DavidSiegel Mar 20, 2014 @ 11:51 am
    Thank you Susan, I was quite nervous when I hit the Publish button but I'm glad you liked it! I still feel a bit shy about starting another lens but I think that will go away soon enough. :D
  • CreativeArtist Mar 20, 2014 @ 8:14 am
    I enjoyed the movie, and your review. : )
Advertisement

Lens of the Day

Labor Day in Pioche, Nevada

Celebrating Labor Day in Pioche, (pronounced Pee-oatch) Nevada is a unique experience. It's a small town...

More pages in Kids Movies...

Advertisement

Make your page on Squidoo!

Get started