RED DOG Movie Review

Ranked #8,448 in Entertainment, #132,976 overall

I’m always excited when America and Australia collaborate to make a movie. It always brings out the best from both nations and RED DOG is no exception.

Based on a true story about Red Dog, an Australian Kelpie, that is trying to find his master and in doing so unites a township in Western Australia. This is a quality film and is rated PG so its great for both young kids and adults.

Red dog features American actor Josh Lucus, you will recognize him from such films as Sweet Home Alabama and A Beautiful Mind. Other actors include Rachael Taylor and Rohan Nichol. All the actors give a great performance and are ideal for their roles. There are three books written about Red Dog. Since he was discovered in 1971 his story has become Legend in the Pilbara. There is even a Statue of him in Dampier.

Released in 2011, Red Dog was an instant hit in Australia but remains a sleeper in America. Based on true events Red Dog, aka Koco, was born in 1971 in Paraburdoo, Western Australia. He searches town after town looking for that one person that he can be with. Problem is everyone he comes across wants to be his owner and this brings out their stories. Red Dog will make you laugh and will also make you cry.

By the end of the movie you will fall in love with Red Dog and the cast of the movie. Very entertaining for the whole family.

This is my favorite movie at the moment. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Red Dog (2011) Official Trailer

Very funny video. I hope you enjoy.

Quote

Peeto: What makes you think that the girl wants a skinny yank like you when us real blokes are here?

John Grant: I bathe.

Interesting Mistake

Jaws is being played at the drive-in movie cinema in a scene from 1971. The Australian release for Jaws was 1975.

You may also like...

Comments

  • Follow
    Share to:
    Alert message
  • katiesnow Mar 20, 2014 @ 11:31 am
    Congrats on the review of the day!
  • Gwondo Mar 23, 2014 @ 8:28 am
    Thank you katiesnow.
  • Lionrhod Mar 19, 2014 @ 11:32 pm
    Okay thanks to your review I just MUST go out and get this movie. "Sometimes the dog picks you..." Yup! I am owned by three pit bull mixes who all picked me. Adopting a dog is fantastic. Being adopted by a critter is beyond measure.
  • rconnor111 Mar 17, 2014 @ 6:50 pm
    Me and the girls thought the movie was pretty good!
  • kiwinana71 Mar 15, 2014 @ 10:04 pm
    Thanks for a interesting review. I love these types of movies, thanks for sharing, I will be looking for this one.
  • Gwondo Mar 16, 2014 @ 5:19 am
    Thanks kiwinana71
  • holisticwriter Mar 15, 2014 @ 9:58 pm
    Sounds like a sweet story. I think I can fall in love with this dog even before I see the movie.
  • Gwondo Mar 16, 2014 @ 5:20 am
    Your right holisticwriter. He has great facial expressions.
  • DeniseMcGill Mar 15, 2014 @ 6:33 pm
    Oh and congrats on Review of the Day!
  • Gwondo Mar 16, 2014 @ 5:20 am
    Thanks DeniseMcGill. Nice honor.
  • DeniseMcGill Mar 15, 2014 @ 6:32 pm
    Well, now I'm going to have to look this movie up. Never heard of it before but sometimes the BEST movies are the ones the critics didn't like here in the US. And I love Josh Lucas in everything else I've seen him in. Thanks for the tip.
  • Gwondo Mar 16, 2014 @ 5:22 am
    Josh is a great Actor. Great combination with Red Dog.
  • partybuzz Mar 15, 2014 @ 11:23 am
    This sounds like a movie I will love! Thanks for the review.
  • Gwondo Mar 16, 2014 @ 5:23 am
    Thanks partybuzz.
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Mar 15, 2014 @ 11:03 am
    I love dog movies. This is one I look forward to seeing. Congrats on Review of the Day!
  • Gwondo Mar 16, 2014 @ 5:23 am
    Thank you.
  • Merrci Mar 15, 2014 @ 9:58 am
    PS Congratulations on Review of the Day!
  • Gwondo Mar 16, 2014 @ 5:25 am
    Thanks Merrci.
  • Merrci Mar 15, 2014 @ 9:57 am
    Great review--I'm sold! This looks so good, one I definitely have to see! So glad you shared it.
  • tonyleather Mar 15, 2014 @ 9:45 am
    Looks like a really good movie!
  • Gwondo Mar 16, 2014 @ 5:25 am
    Well worth seeing. Thanks tonyleather.
  • rms Mar 15, 2014 @ 8:52 am
    Sounds like a fun movie.
  • Gwondo Mar 16, 2014 @ 5:26 am
    It sure is rms. Fun for the whole family.
  • Susan52 Mar 13, 2014 @ 5:37 pm
    This definitely looks like a winner! Great review!
  • Gwondo Mar 14, 2014 @ 6:19 am
    Thanks Susan52. Lots of fun to make.