Do you enjoy a good read? Here’s an eclectic list of books that have one thing in common, their authors are British.

I’d love to know what you think of them.

I am the United Kingdom Travel Contributor on Squidoo and I know that everyone needs a good book when they’re traveling so here’s a great list to choose from. I have included some brilliant travel guides to the UK too so scroll down to the end.

What makes a book great for you?

Do you have a personal story or a special feeling about one of these books? Or perhaps a funny story to tell? Maybe you just love one so much you would like to turn other people on to it. Why not write a review - or even two?

Here are a couple of examples of the kind of review I am looking for:

  • The Wind in the Willows - I chose this one because it is our favorite family book.
  • George Orwell's Animal Farm. You will see that I have written a personal story.

Start reviewing by either clicking on a purple “Review It” button or if your favorite book by a British author isn’t listed here get started using this link.

Feel free to review as many books as you like and be sure to share them with us by putting your URLs in the comment box below. And also share your review on my comments box in my Facebook page

Squidoo is the best place I have found online for writing and sharing ideas. It is really easy to do so give it a go. You really don’t have to be a professional critic or book reviewer to join in and have some fun!

You may also like...

Comments


Here's where you put the URL to your review. I can't wait to read it! What did you think of this list? If your favorite book is missing use the link above to write a review of it. Please do leave a comment before you go. Thanks very much for your visit.

  • Follow
    Share to:
    Alert message
  • Karen1960 Mar 13, 2014 @ 6:08 am
    Have just reviewed 'Shades of Grey' by Jasper Fforde - http://www.squidoo.com/review-jasper-ffordes-shades-of-grey
  • adventuretravelshop Mar 13, 2014 @ 7:23 am
    Great Keren, I'll add it to my lensography and promote it om my network. Thanks for letting me know.
  • Sir_Daniel_UK Feb 27, 2014 @ 2:11 pm
    'Watership Down' by Richard Adams - 1972.

    http://www.squidoo.com/watership-down-review

    I'm thanking you.
  • adventuretravelshop Feb 27, 2014 @ 6:58 pm
    Thank you for this info - I have added it to this lens http://www.squidoo.com/top-fiction-books
  • Cercis Feb 05, 2014 @ 11:53 pm
    Hi, Here are some books with British authors that I've reviewed: http://www.squidoo.com/the-wind-in-the-willows-an-enduring-favorite, http://www.squidoo.com/a-childs-christmas-in-wales, and http://www.squidoo.com/maisie-dobbs
  • adventuretravelshop Feb 06, 2014 @ 7:41 am
    Thank you very much indeed Ceris - I look forward to reading them and I shall add them to the fiction lensography. The Wind in The Willows is our favorite family book.
  • BrianS Feb 03, 2014 @ 2:25 pm
    I have a few reviews of UK authors, this is one of my favourites. http://www.squidoo.com/womens-love-and-relationships Let me know if you want links for the others :-)
  • adventuretravelshop Feb 03, 2014 @ 4:50 pm
    Yes Brian I would love the links of your other lenses too for the lensography I'm compiling. Thank you very much indeed.
  • This comment has been deleted.
  • adventuretravelshop Feb 05, 2014 @ 1:02 pm
    Thank you for these. I really appreciate it. you're right there is a lot of talent coming out of the UK. I'll have a look at these and see what I can do. Thanks again.
  • BrianS Feb 06, 2014 @ 4:33 am
    That's brilliant, thanks very much. I should have added my own as well really but they are reference books so not as exciting.
  • adventuretravelshop Feb 06, 2014 @ 7:42 am
    I'm going to be looking for non fiction next. I'll keep you informed.
  • tonyleather Feb 03, 2014 @ 9:16 am
    http://www.squidoo.com/wonderful-mesmeric-fiction-that-is-the-novel-war-of-the-worlds-by-h-g-wells
  • adventuretravelshop Feb 03, 2014 @ 9:34 am
    Thanks Tony. I'll add it to the list. :)
  • Karen1960 Jan 28, 2014 @ 5:27 am
    Wrote this a while back as CJ Sansom is one of my favourite historical fiction authors - http://www.squidoo.com/the-novels-of-cj-sansom
  • adventuretravelshop Jan 28, 2014 @ 9:59 am
    Fantastic lens. I've added you to all my social networks! Thank you.
  • Jan 27, 2014 @ 1:52 pm
    A great many good books there and so many others, as for any place in the world and as a written language there are amazing authors from India for example, many of whom win the Booker prize often.

    When it comes to modern British authors, one always come to find - Terry Pratchett. Underrated and overlooked by those who dismiss the 'fantasy' label yet still hugely popular and in addition to his thought provoking, ethical discourse and side splitting satire I always remember that he was the author whose books were most shoplifted, if that makes sense. Basically his books are/were so good, a heck of a lot of people would forget to pay for them on the way out. Guess they couldn't wait to read and then got too engrossed...

    If travel books are your forte Iain Sinclair wrote some very interesting books about walking and traveling through London. The commentary is different to any other travel book I've read - personal, with a lot of 'strange' and very 'street' experiences. Not ones to recommend to tourists though.
  • adventuretravelshop Jan 27, 2014 @ 9:10 pm
    I have added both Terry Pratchett and Iain Sinclair to the list. Will you be reviewing them? Thanks for your very interesting comment.
  • Jan 28, 2014 @ 6:11 am
    I'm just a newbie and writing here is very intimidating lol with the high quality but I do intend to try and review a Pratchett, though it'd be a mammoth task!
  • adventuretravelshop Jan 28, 2014 @ 8:08 am
    It does sound like a daunting! The best reviews are those that are also a personal story. People read lenses for many reasons, but a big one is because they like to be entertained. I think of Squidoo as a giant magazine, with a bit of wiki thrown in for good measure. I hope you have a go.
  • adventuretravelshop Jan 27, 2014 @ 10:20 am
    I've got some fantastic reviews of fiction novels written by British Authors coming in. Thanks everyone. Please keep them coming and don't forget to paste your URLs here. Have a great week.
  • tonyleather Jan 27, 2014 @ 6:40 am
    http://www.squidoo.com/wonderful-mesmeric-fiction-that-is-the-novel-war-of-the-worlds-by-h-g-wells
  • adventuretravelshop Jan 27, 2014 @ 10:39 am
    A great review. Thanks very much.
  • Skaos3010 Jan 25, 2014 @ 7:09 pm
    My favourite British author, in modern times anyway, is Lee Child. I have written a review that has personal significance for me. Find it here and thanks for giving me the opportunity to share this.

    http://www.squidoo.com/a-wanted-man-my-meeting-with-my-writing-idol
  • adventuretravelshop Jan 25, 2014 @ 7:26 pm
    Thank you very much indeed.
  • KyraB Jan 25, 2014 @ 12:39 pm
    One of my favorite British authors is J.R.R Tolkien which follows that one of my favorite books is his Lord of the Rings trilogy but I also really like Jane Austen too. :)
  • adventuretravelshop Jan 25, 2014 @ 3:56 pm
    Please do write a review lens about them - I'd love to hear more about why you love them. Thanks for your visit and your comment.
  • Colin323 Jan 25, 2014 @ 12:35 pm
    Hi. This a great selection of books. Hardy is also my favourite classic author, and I have recently reviewed 'Tess'. I read it again after a 20+ year absence, and it was even better than I remembered.

    http://www.squidoo.com/tess-of-the-durbervilles-53266
  • adventuretravelshop Jan 25, 2014 @ 3:55 pm
    I read it years ago - I feel like reading it again too I'm sure I'll have a similar experience. I'm looking forward to reading your lens. Thank you very much for your visit and link to your lens. Will you be writing any more reviews? Don't forget to leave your URL here.
  • MarcellaCarlton Jan 18, 2014 @ 3:01 pm
    I loved and have read all of the Hardy novels and wish he was still alive to write more. My all time favorite is the Woodlanders. I really like your choices.
  • adventuretravelshop Jan 18, 2014 @ 8:42 pm
    Will you be writing a review of a Hardy book? I'd love to read it. If you do please add your URL here. Thanks for your visit and for leaving a comment.