Excellent music can make a mediocre film good and a excellent film epic. Some of the best and most iconic music of the 80s comes in the form of the almighty movie soundtrack. If you’re anything like me, these songs have emedded themselves in your psyche as the soundtrack to your own life.

Perhaps you have a personal anecdote about hearing these songs for the first or 100th time. Maybe you had them on vinyl, 8-track, or casette back in the 80s. Perhaps these songs wiggled their way into your heart only a few years ago.

I’d love to hear your stories, so if you do review one of these soundtracks, be sure to drop me a link in the comments. And don’t worry, non-80s movies with 80s soundtracks (think The Wedding Singer or Grosse Pointe Blank) are a-ok!


Helpful Hints:

If you want to review your favorite 80s soundtrack and it’s not on this list, you can do so via this link.

For some review inspiration, you can check out the review I did of The Wedding Singer Soundtrack and the 80s flick Better Off Dead.

And lastly, some writing tips: How to Write a Killer Movie or Music Review.

You may also like...

Comments


  • Favorite 80s Soundtrack Not Listed Here? Go to this link and write a review. Don't forget to come back here and tell me all about it in the comments!

  • Need Some Inspiration? Check out my review of The Wedding Singer Soundtrack. You can also take a gander at these handy tips.

  • Follow
    Share to:
    Alert message
  • partybuzz Jan 24, 2014 @ 10:02 am
    My kids were teens in the 80's and my son was a huge Phil Collins fan and still is. :) Lots of great music made in the 80s!
  • melaniekaren Jan 24, 2014 @ 7:24 am
    Hello and good morning. :) I thought I'd let you know that I have written about to 80's soundtracks in two lenses. One for "Legend" and one for "Blade Runner." They are reviews on the movies, but I also talk a lot about the soundtracks. I could I not with Tangerine Dream and Vangelis! :D -alrighty, enjoy your day :D
  • PaigSr Jan 22, 2014 @ 5:23 pm
    Once again Busted. But in a good way this time. That's right world its the Ghostbusters.
    http://www.squidoo.com/music-from-ghostbusters-the-movie
  • jennabee25 Jan 22, 2014 @ 12:24 pm
    This such a cool curation lens! Here's my contributation: http://www.squidoo.com/a-rollerskating-muse
  • linhah Jan 22, 2014 @ 11:45 am
    Ha! My favorite all time movie is listed. http://www.squidoo.com/blues-brothers-1980
  • bdkz Jan 21, 2014 @ 5:59 pm
    My contribution! http://beliza.squidoo.com/get-the-fast-times-at-ridgemont-high-soundtrack-movie
  • CalobrenaOmai Jan 21, 2014 @ 3:51 pm
    Footloose (the 80s version) is one of my favorites; just love the song especially when it plays at the dance. Top Gun is good but the one I remember most is Danger Zone (thanks Archer). The Blues Brothers is really good and my top favorite is Raw Hide which I didn't realize was actually used in one of my cartoon movies. Beetleguise came back to me after watching that Heroes of Cosplay episode featuring a cosplayer dressing up as a character from the cartoon adaptation of the film. I may do a lens review on some sort of soundtrack but I'm not sure what kind yet. Thanks for the memory flash.
  • getmoreinfo Jan 21, 2014 @ 1:29 pm
    This is a great selection of 80"s music soundtracks, I can still remember "Flashdance". LOL
  • 3rdworldman Jan 18, 2014 @ 10:49 am
    I really wanted to participate in this quest! Alas though, my favorite 80's soundtrack isn't here :-(
    That would be "Tucker: The Man and His Dream", featuring a fantastic soundtrack by the incredible & amazing Joe Jackson! The story of Tucker is in itself an remarkable tale, and the soundtrack fits perfectly to the movie. Both are seriously under-rated!
  • shay_marie Jan 18, 2014 @ 1:00 pm
    You can definitely review an 80s soundtrack that isn't listed here. Do so via this URL: http://www.squidoo.com/workshop/create?format=productformat

    Once it's published, come back here and leave the link to your review in the comments.
  • shay_marie Jan 20, 2014 @ 7:17 pm
    I just added Joe Jackson's "Tucker: The Man and His Dream" (it's the last soundtrack listed). If you'd still like to write a review, click on the purple "Review It" button and have at it!
  • 3rdworldman Jan 25, 2014 @ 4:00 pm
    I did it! Here's my review for Joe Jackson's "Tucker: The Man and His Dream". Thanks for adding this great soundtrack! http://www.squidoo.com/workshop/joe-jacksons-lively-soundtrack-for-tucker-will-have-you-jumpin-and-jivin
  • serendipity831 Jan 16, 2014 @ 7:03 pm
    This list is great! It totally takes me back to the day. I wrote a lens on "Purple Rain" a while back, but looking at this list may inspire me to do a different one on here. Possibly "Xanadu", I have always loved Olivia.