January 17, 2014 will be the 23rd Anniversary of the launch of Operation Desert Storm.

I was there and have my own perspective of Desert Shield/Desert Storm but after my return, and many years later, I continue to hear other perspectives.

These perspectives were by many methods including books, movies, videos, music, letters and stories.

I followed Desert Storm while on the ground in Saudi Arabia and Iraq, almost 23 years ago. You may have followed the same path as I did but you also could have followed it on television, at home or by the experiences of friends or relatives.

Below are some niche items that will surely bring back the memories to you. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to review at least one of these items. Try not to do this from a historical perspective but from your personal experience. If you were there, knew someone who was there, wrote to someone who was there, listened to patriotic music, wrote to soldiers, sent care packages or even just learned about Desert Storm, I would love to hear from you.

If you have forgotten or never knew until now of this significant event in American History, you can review it through my eyes in my own personal account of Operation Desert Storm

Please start your reviews by clicking on the “Review It” button. I can’t wait to read your stories!

You may also like...

Comments

  • Follow
    Share to:
    Alert message
  • trevorjb1406 Jan 20, 2014 @ 6:36 am
    I can't believe it's 23 years! How time flies! Very interesting lens and nicely designed.
  • tvyps Jan 20, 2014 @ 3:41 pm
    Thank you. Yes, it has gone really fast...but the memories are still very vivid...sometimes too vivid.
  • trevorjb1406 Jan 20, 2014 @ 5:49 am
    Well done! A good lens and nicely designed!
  • Merrci Jan 17, 2014 @ 10:12 am
    Great idea for lenses. Just looking at the list of book brings back memories of it. Look forward to reading what comes in!
  • tvyps Jan 17, 2014 @ 2:59 pm
    Thank you very much, so am I!
  • d-artist Jan 17, 2014 @ 9:58 am
    Nicely written and personal lens! I remember watching on TV everything minute to minute....even driving 9 hours to another state...I was mentally exhausted, bringing back feelings-emotions of Vietnam, sick to my stomach. Hubby was silent and tears flowed...we prayed a lot. I personally read WWII stories because I experience it there, then hubby of course reads books and watches Vietnam movies...we all have our sorrows.
    Thank you for your service! I can't wait to read YOUR "Military Buff" lens
  • tvyps Jan 17, 2014 @ 3:01 pm
    My Mother was very sad that I went to war. She had already experienced World War II and during her childhood, the entire German occupation of Belgium. They were not treated badly but many civilians were killed because of their resistance. My Mother cried when I went, but was also happy when I returned.
Advertisement

Lens of the Day

I Love Brussels Sprouts : 5 plus 2 Fabulous and Tasty Recipes

Looking for the very best, fabulous and tasty 5-star recipes for preparing brussels sprouts so that everyone...

Advertisement

Make your page on Squidoo!

Get started