Slim Fast Review | Does Slim Fast REALLY Work?

*BEFORE AND AFTER PICTURES!* With about 20 pounds to lose, I finally gave Slim Fast a try and decided to add my Slim Fast review to the growing number of Slim Fast reviews out there. If you're wondering if Slim Fast really works--I'm with you--so let's find out together. Follow my journey as I post frequent updates about my progress, along with pictures.

I'll let you know what I like about it, how it makes me feel, and of course, my overall weight loss (here's hoping). I can't guarantee I won't slip up along the way, but hopefully you'll be here with me to get me back on track. Let's start this Slim Fast journey!

NOTE: There are a lot of pictures here, so be sure to scroll all the way down. Skip to my latest Slim Fast photo!

How Much Weight Are You Looking To Lose?

  Show the poll results
  • Follow
    Share to:
    Alert message
  • cv10 9dx Apr 02, 2013 @ 4:43 pm
    amy
  • sik1 Mar 26, 2013 @ 3:08 pm
    ive recently quit using meth. and as a result i have gained an excess of 50 lbs! right now im in dire need to get the weight off before my sick mind convinces me that meth is the only way out i seriously need help i sont want to relaps
  • eggzove Mar 25, 2013 @ 2:12 am
    nina limsiaco
  • Maddie Mar 19, 2013 @ 12:38 pm
    Help!
  • Andrea_Louise Mar 13, 2013 @ 3:57 pm
    Don't get ripped off.... Buy the "Superdrug Meal Replacement Shakes" they are only 4.99 (or 2 for 6.99). They taste like a normal milkshake and are so so tasty :) I simply don't see the point in paying any more for what is the same diet AND why not drink the nice shakes :)

See all comments

My Slim Fast Methodology

Every time I post, I’ll include a heading that speaks to the day and what weight I am at. Follow along and keep your fingers crossed that I drop at least a few pounds!

Day 1

November 6, 2011
Starting Weight: 146.3

Here I am! Day 1 (Before and After Pictures)

Here I am! Day 1 (Before and After Pictures)

Here I am! Day 1 (Before and After Pictures)

Slim Fast Review: Day 1

Will Slim Fast Work?

Before you get started, I highly recommend you invest in a good scale; I like the ones that can measure better than .5 pounds at a time–try to find one that measures to the nearest .2 pounds, like the EatSmart Precision GetFit Digital Body Fat Scale.

I was kind of thrown off this morning–we switched the clocks back due to Daylight Savings Time yesterday night and we had a bit of an adjustment with my 1 year old son today, therefore throwing off my morning. As a result, I didn’t really eat until lunchtime (and what I ate wasn’t very conducive to weight loss!).

9:30 a.m.: Light Yogurt (110 calories)
12:00 p.m.: Slim Fast 3 2 1 Chocolate Royale Shake (200 calories)
12:30 p.m.: Cinnamon Twists from Taco Bell (160 calories)
3:00 p.m.: String Cheese (60 calories)
5:00 p.m.: 1 piece manicotti, 2 garlic rolls, 2 meatballs (estimated 950 calories)
TOTAL: 1480 calories

Ok, so I totally went overboard at dinner, but this was likely because I didn’t eat enough calories earlier in the day. I had my first Slim Fast at noon, whereas by that time I should’ve been drinking my second Slim Fast. Have you ever heard people say that people are more successful losing weight when they eat breakfast? This is totally true–if you satisfy your body early on in the day, it won’t freak out (for lack of a better word) at night. Tomorrow, since it’s a workday, I’ll have an easier time eating when I should.

Note: I totally had an energy crash at about 3:00 p.m. today! I wasn’t sure if it was the Slim Fast that did it, but after thinking about it, I’ve had a *really* hard time sleeping this weekend and my schedule has totally been thrown off. I did perk up some after dinner, but quickly went back to feeling sluggish; we’ll see tomorrow if that feeling passes.

What Does Slim Fast Taste Like?

When mixed with skim milk. the Slim Fast 3 2 1 Chocolate Royale tastes like Chocolate Milk--just make sure to shake it up really well to dissolve all the powder.

I found I need to shake it halfway through to make sure the powder doesn't settle at the bottom.

Where to Buy Slim Fast?

I found Amazon is cheapest


slim fast review

Bonus: 3 Pack
Multiple flavors


Amazon is where I ultimately decided to buy my Slim Fast–it seems to be the cheapest place to buy it. It’s available in four flavors: Chocolate Royale (my favorite), Milk Chocolate, Strawberry Supreme and French Vanilla



slim fast review

Have You Tried Slim Fast Before?

  Show the poll results
  • Follow
    Share to:
    Alert message
  • Jan 27, 2013 @ 2:41 pm
    It was def. worth a read. I always wanted to know if it worked. For me, I like protein shakes and running after 4 children helps me to "slim down". Nice lens
  • Denise Bodoh Jan 19, 2013 @ 1:24 pm
    I started at 234 lbs when I started doing Slim Fast. I am currently at 190! Because of all the vitamins and minerals in it, I don't have cravings for other thngs. I did it once before and it worked then too. I tell everybody and they are seeing the results.
  • metrogirl198 Jan 13, 2013 @ 11:58 pm
    I'm new here and i weight more then 230 and i would like to go back down to my 150.Once i had my kids I couldn't lose the weight, you would think with all that running after them I should be in shape but I"m not. What can I do to get back in shape that don't involve getting a member ship to a fitness center money is tough right now.
  • Kennedy Feb 25, 2013 @ 2:16 am
    I would recommend Slim Fast. You can go to Walmart or Kroger to buy Slim Fast. I drink the chocolate, and I've lost in all about 10 pounds in a week and a half. The first two weeks are the hardest. I use to walk two miles a day, and still couldn't burn off the weight that I wanted too. I tried Slim Fast at my friends house before we went to ball practice and I noticed that I wasn't hungry after ball practice and I usually was. So I continued to drink them and I lost more weight then I did by walking. Slim Fast is cheap too, and if you have a computer and a printer some where near you, then print some coupons for Slim Fast, and it'll save money.
  • Brittany Mar 04, 2013 @ 1:50 pm
    You know I had the same thought about a week ago until my mom told me about Zumba. It's way better than regular exercising to me because it's more like a dance and it makes it more fun. I am currently on day three of the slim fast diet and mixing it with Zumba. You can watch these instructional videos on you tube for free which is much cheaper than a gym membership. However if this is not your preferred type of exercise then you can look up different kinds and try them out. Hope this helps you and good luck!

See all comments

Day 2

November 7, 2011
Weight: 146.2 = -.1 lbs lost

Slim Fast Review: Day 2

Today wasn’t bad eating-wise. Mondays are usually pretty rough for me, and today was no exception. The good news is I’m so busy on Mondays that I have no time to eat. The bad news is I have no time to eat. I can’t win either way, basically.

8:30 a.m.: Slim Fast 3 2 1 Chocolate Royale Shake (200 cal.)
11:00 a.m.: 1 c. Grapes (110 cal.–more than I thought)
12:30 p.m.: Slim Fast 3 2 1 Chocolate Royale Shake (200 cal.)
12:45 p.m.: Fun-Size Milk Duds (40 cal.)
3:30 p.m.: Apple (110 cal.)
5:30 p.m.: Small Movie Theater Popcorn, drizzle butter (400 cal., estimated–didn’t eat it all)
9:00 p.m.: Light Yogurt (110 cal.)
TOTAL: 1170 calories

No energy crash today! I wasn’t ready to run a marathon, however, I didn’t get the sluggish feeling that I had yesterday.

QUESTION: AM I HUNGRY ON SLIM-FAST?
ANSWER: Surprisingly not.

I was pretty shocked that one shake can keep me satisfied for as long as it does. Note that i don’t say “full,” because that is not what I feel. I feel satisfied–neither here nor there, hungry nor full, just ‘fine.” Which is OK for me. After 3 1/2 to 4 hours I do start to feel hungry, so I don’t think I could go much longer than that without eating.

Day 3

November 8, 2011
Weight: 145.5 = -.9 lbs lost

Day 3: Slim Fast Review

I think it's working!

Stayed on-plan today, although I must admit that right now I’d *really* love a small bowl of ice cream! I’m not necessarily hungry, but I just feel like munching on something. I could probably make it work, based on my calories below. My dinner calories were inflated since I picked off most of the pepperoni. But, I’m going to try to hold out: when we make bargains with ourselves the weight loss always stagnates!

8:30 a.m.: Slim Fast 3 2 1 Chocolate Royale Shake (200 cal.)
11:00 a.m.: Slim Fast Crunch Bar (100 cal.)
12:00p.m.: Slim Fast 3 2 1 Chocolate Royale Shake (200 cal.)
2:30 p.m.: Apple (110 cal.)
7:00 p.m.: 2 Slices DiGiornio Pepperoni Pizza (525 cal. — estimated high since most of the meat was picked off)
9:00 p.m.: Light Yogurt (110 cal.)
TOTAL: 1245 calories

I’m going to try Slim Fast with soy milk tomorrow–skim milk has 90 calories for 1 cup, whereas soy milk (light) only have 60. I could definitely use 60 total calories back in my day for a little after-dinner snack. Plus, soy milk is a little thicker so I’m thinking the Slim Fast might taste more like a shake (that would make my Slim Fast review even better!).

I like soy milk–I know many people are afraid to try it–but especially when it’s mixed with something chocolate-y, it’ll taste just like normal, albeit creamier, milk. I’ll report back tomorrow how it goes.
SlimFast Variety Pack Snack Bar, 0.81 Ounce (Pack of 24)

Slim Fast 100 Calorie Bars

slim fast crunch bar review

These are so good!

Buy Now

Day 4

November 9, 2011
Weight: 145.0 = -1.3 lbs lost

Slim Fast Review: Day 4

A bit hungrier today on Slim Fast 3 2 1

I tried Slim Fast with soy milk today; let me tell you, it’s FABULOUS! I started drinking soy milk while I was nursing my son, as he is sensitive to dairy. The taste, when plain, does taste different from the skim milk I was accustomed to. It’s creamier. I’ve always liked it, but some people are put off by it when they see it, as it has a slightly yellow/beige tint to it. If I told you that you were drinking Slim Fast 3 2 1 with 2% milk however, you would totally believe me, because that’s what Slim Fast with soy milk tastes like. Ok, to make this a well-rounded Slim Fast review, let’s get into what I ate today.

8:30 a.m.: Slim Fast 3 2 1 Chocolate Royale Shake (170 cal.–woohoo, saved 30 calories since I used light soy milk)
10:40 a.m.: Slim Fast Crunch Bar (100 cal.)
12:30p.m.: Slim Fast 3 2 1 Chocolate Royale Shake (170 cal.)
3:30 p.m.: Apple (110 cal.)
6:30 p.m.: 1 bowl Cinnamon Toast Crunch Cereal with soy milk (190 calories)
8:30 p.m.: 1 mini Blizzard from Dairy Queen, peanut butter cup (390 calories)
9:00 p.m.: Light Yogurt (110 cal. Didn’t want to eat this, but had to take it with medication)
TOTAL: 1130 calories

I was a little hungry today on Slim Fast; mainly this occurred between breakfast and my first snack. I got busy at work after while, though, and didn’t really notice it. I should drink more water through the day as that would probably help.

Best Way To Prevent Lumps in Slim Fast

Use a Shaker!

This little tool is hands-down the best way to prevent lumps in Slim Fast. It comes with a little wire whisk-ball that helps to dissolve the powder so that there are NO lumps. Genius! Click through any of the links below to see more colors–there are almost ten colors offers, and the best part is the low price — they are all well under $10! I made sure to get two so that I always had a clean one on-hand. Because if it’s clean, you are more likely to stick to the plan.

Sundesa Shaker for LUMP-FREE Slim-Fast ShakesSundesa Shaker for LUMP-FREE Slim-Fast Shakes

Sundesa Shaker for LUMP-FREE Slim-Fast ShakesSundesa Shaker for LUMP-FREE Slim-Fast Shakes

Sundesa Shaker for LUMP-FREE Slim-Fast ShakesSundesa Shaker for LUMP-FREE Slim-Fast Shakes

Sundesa Shaker for LUMP-FREE Slim-Fast ShakesSundesa Shaker for LUMP-FREE Slim-Fast Shakes


Day 5

November 10, 2011
Weight: 145.0 = -1.3 lbs lost (NO CHANGE)

Slim Fast Review: Day 5

One thing I don’t like about the Slim Fast container that I have, is that the scoop is oddly almost too big to get a good scoop. I have the 12.83 oz. canisters, and it just gets difficult to get a full scoop with the amount of space this container has. It’s definitely doable, it’s just a a little irritating to me. I might figure out how many scoops it takes from my son’s formula canister to equal a scoop of Slim Fast, and then use that scooper. We’ll see.

8:15 a.m.: Slim Fast 3 2 1 Chocolate Royale Shake (170 cal.)
9:30 a.m.: Light string cheese (60 cal.)
12:30p.m.: Slim Fast 3 2 1 Chocolate Royale Shake (170 cal.)
1:30 p.m.: Packet oatmeal (160 cal.)
3:30 p.m.: Apple (110 cal.)
7:00 p.m.: 1 hamburger with bacon and cheese bits–no bun (500 calories, guesstimate)
9:00 p.m.: Light Yogurt (110 cal.)
TOTAL: 1280 calories

I definitely stayed fuller today; I was worried when I was adding up to get to my total calories that I’d be somewhere in the 1400 range, but it wasn’t as bad as I thought. The oatmeal, hamburger and string cheese all gave me some extra protein today which helped me stay full.

Do tell: Have you tried Slim Fast before? What was your experience like?

  Show the poll results
  • Follow
    Share to:
    Alert message
  • pitlock Oct 28, 2013 @ 4:04 pm
    I liked it but didn't stick with it very long.
  • WeeCatCreations Apr 10, 2013 @ 3:26 pm
    Slim Fast leaves me hungry and cranky.
  • dianne Mar 29, 2013 @ 5:25 pm
    I need to lose weight but about a month ago broke my ankle. Maybe slim fast can help me lose 15 pounds
  • najoslin Mar 24, 2013 @ 3:05 pm
    I've tried slimfast, but its been years ago and I didn't like the flavor.... maybe its better now?
  • syn Feb 08, 2013 @ 12:50 am
    they,have a app called lose it that helps you count and give yiu points when you exercise they give u a set of calories you can eat a day

See all comments

Day 6

November 11, 2011
Weight: 144.8 = -1.5 lbs lost

Slim Fast Review: Day 6

Did I lose weight? Does Slim Fast Work?

Since I didn’t lose any weight yesterday, I was eager to see what I weighed this morning. YES! I lost another .2 pounds. I’m really not worried if there are days that I don’t lose, or even if there are days that I go up. Changes in the weather, in salt intake, in ANYTHING can really throw a wrench into things. You have to look at it as a whole, really, and not daily. But, for the sake of this Slim Fast Review and to determine if Slim Fast really works, I’ll continue with my daily weigh-ins.

8:00 a.m.: Slim Fast 3 2 1 Chocolate Royale Shake (170 cal.)
9:30 a.m.: Red Grapes (110 cal.)
12:00p.m.: Slim Fast 3 2 1 Chocolate Royale Shake (170 cal.)
1:30 p.m.: Packet oatmeal (160 cal.) + Slim Fast Crunch Bar (100 cal.)
4:00 p.m.: Apple (110 cal.)
7:00 p.m.: Chicken Calupa Casserole (500 calories, guesstimate)
8:30 p.m.: Light Yogurt (110 cal.)
TOTAL: 1260 calories

Today I walked around the block after work since it was a nice night. The total trek was just under a mile, so nothing to brag about, but it was good to get moving.

Day 7

November 12, 2011
Weight: 144.6 = -1.7 lbs lost

Slim Fast Review: Day 7

So here’s where this Slim Fast review becomes a little less like a Slim Fast review: it’s hard to stay on-plan on the weekends (at least for me). My family and I usually go out to lunch, and we’re always sure to eat as a family on the weekends. My plan is to not go crazy, but not to be strictly on Slim Fast. Plus, I have a baby shower to go to, and I’ll be darned if I’m not eating some of that cake.

8:30 a.m.: Light Yogurt (110 cal.)
9:30 a.m.: Light String Cheese (60 cal.)
1:00p.m.: 1 Turkey Sandwich (290 cal.), A few mini-quiches (300 cal.), 1 hot dog thingy (50 cal.), cake and ice cream (300 cal.)
6:30 p.m.: Chicken Chalupa Casserole leftovers (500 cal., guesstimate)
8:00 p.m.: Mini Blizzard from Dairy Queen, peanut butter cup (390 cal.)
TOTAL: 2000 calories

Ha, I was laughing as I was adding this all up, and I actually expected it to be above 2,000 calories. For my height (5’4″), 2,000 calories isn’t exactly great for weight-loss, but I wouldn’t categorize it as horrible. Especially since I walked around the block three (yes, three!) times today; this was just over 2 miles. Walking doesn’t burn a ton of calories, but every bit helps. In case you didn’t notice, I didn’t have any Slim Fast today.

Day 8

November 13, 2011
Weight: 144.3 = -2 lbs lost

Slim Fast Review: Day 8

Today was a really busy day and I didn’t have much time for real food–I know many of you won’t want to eat cereal for meals, but it really works for me. It’s quick and offers quite a bit of variety, so I can’t complain.

9:30 a.m.: Light Yogurt (110 cal.)
9:30 a.m.: Light String Cheese (60 cal.)
1:00p.m.: Raisin Bran + 3/4 c. Soy Milk (190 cal.)
3:30 p.m.: Slim Fast Chocolate Royale Shake with Soy Milk (170 cal.)
5:00 p.m.: Raisin Bran + 3/4 c. Soy Milk (190 cal.)
6:00 p.m.: 1 bag Kettle Corn (280 cal.)
TOTAL: 1000 calories

I had a hefty day in terms of eating yesterday, but today I had far too few calories! I probably should have nixed one of my Slim Fast meals and had something more substantial. However, i should note that I was NOT hungry, likely due to all the running around I did.

Day 9

November 14, 2011
Weight: 144.3 = -2 lbs lost

Slim Fast Review: Day 9

No weight loss for today–darn it. But, I can’t expect to lose every day.

8:30 a.m.: Light Yogurt (110 cal.)
9:45 a.m.: Apple (110 cal.)
1:00p.m.: Salad at work (700 cal. – guesstimate)
3:30 p.m.: Slim Fast Crunch Bar (100 cal.)
7:00 p.m.: 2 hard-shell Tacos (500 cal.)
TOTAL: 1520 calories

Today was just OK. I was kind of mad at myself that I’ve been off-course from the Slim Fast plan for the past few days. My calories as a whole have been OK, but I’m determined to stay on plan for the rest of this week (I hope!).

Day 10

November 15, 2011
Weight: 142.5 = -3.8 lbs lost

Slim Fast Review: Day 10

Yay! Big loss today from yesterday–but, usually when your body does this it’s readjusting. Since it takes 3,500 calories burned to slash one pound, there’s no way I did that yesterday alone. So, maybe I was retaining water the past few days and my weight was elevated, OR, today was kind of a fluke. We’ll see tomorrow.

8:00 a.m.: Light Yogurt (110 cal.)
9:35 a.m.: Apple (110 cal.)
1:00p.m.: Slim Fast with Soy Milk (170 cal. – guesstimate)
1:30 p.m.: Fun Size M&Ms (105 cal.)
2:00 p.m.: Birthday Cake (800 cal.)
6:30 p.m.: 2 slices Cheese Pizza (500 cal.)
TOTAL: 1795 calories

Yikes. Ok, so not completely horrible, but not where I wanted to be. Today was a coworker’s birthday and we had an awesome cookies and cream cake. You’ll notice i have my calories (guesstimated) at 800–that’s because I had two pieces. Yes, TWO! I’m the kind of person that once I assume I’ve blown it for the day, I totally go off-course; this is why I had pizza. 500 calories for dinner isn’t too bad, though.

Day 14

November 19, 2011
Weight: 142.0 = -4.3 lbs lost

Slim Fast Review: Day 14

Does Slim Fast Really Work?

At this point, I’m pretty sure you can tell that I eat the SAME THING (more or less) every day. I won’t bore you with the details of my calories intake anymore! I’ll also be posting at the end of each week, now, rather than each day. I’m excited that Slim Fast is working and it’s been relatively painless!

I’ll also work on getting another picture up. Hopefully what you see in the numbers will be reflected in my figure.

Day 1.2

December 28, 2011
Weight: 144.0 = -2.3 lbs lost

Day ?? Back "on the wagon" and still down 2 pounds post-Holidays (click on the pic to take you to my "before" picture)

Day ?? Back "on the wagon" and still down 2 pounds post-Holidays (click on the pic to take you to my "before" picture)

Day ?? Back "on the wagon" and still down 2 pounds post-Holidays (click on the pic to take you to my "before" picture)

Slim Fast Review Day....???

...And, We Start Again!

So, you may have noticed that I haven’t ahem, posted in awhile. This is “busy time” at my job, and that combined with the holidays (i..e family in town, day care closed, lots and lots of cookies making the house smell delicious) means I’ve been slacking at my posting. For that, dear readers, I’m sorry. I have good news and bad news.

The good news?
I’m still down about 2 pounds from where I started. If you notice in the pic (taken today…argh! I was upset that I couldn’t find the picture that I last took in November, but I guess the more updated one is more important, anyways), I really do think that although I am up ever so slightly from where I left off, the curvature in my lower back is more exaggerated. Which means the area around my belly is getting smaller.

So, I think I look a bit better than I did before. What do you think–do you see a difference?

The bad news?
Um, well obviously that I haven’t lost more weight.

So, now what?
I got more of my Slim Fast from Amazon, so I’m back ON! Throughout my “hiatus,” I still drank one shake a day approximately five days per week, usually for breakfast. Now, I’ll go back to two shakes/day to get back on track.

Curious what I ate today?

8:00 a.m.: 2% Fage Strawberry Greek Yogurt–this stuff is fantastic! (120 cal.)
9:00 a.m.: Slim Fast with Soy Milk (170 cal. – guesstimate)
12:30 p.m.: 1 light String Cheese + Slim Fast with Soy Milk (230 cal.)
2:30 p.m.: 1 piece of “something”–chocolate, peanuts and marshmallows (approx. 200 cal.?)
5:00 p.m.: Large Salad with 3 oz. Chicken, Light Greek Dressing, and sprinkling of cheese (approx. 300 cal.)
8:30 p.m.: 1 Banana Baby (130 cal.)
TOTAL: 1150 calories

A bit less than I would like to be at (don’t want my body to go into starvation mode, but overall, I’m pleased. Have you ever heard of Banana Babies? They are so good–milk or dark chocolate dipped bananas! I get them at my local grocery store.

Day 1.5

December 31, 2011
Weight: 143.8 = -2.5 lbs lost

Slim Fast Review: Day 1.5

Hungry today!

Today I did alot of running around–you might think I was getting ready for some big party since it’s New Year’s Eve, but noooope. Rest assured, I will likely be in bed by 10 p.m., much like usual. Because I ate alot of little things throughout the day and at odd times (I had the munchies, to boot), I wasn’t able to keep track very well, so I won’t try to write down what I ate today here. My family and I ended up staying out longer in the afternoon than we originally planned, so I didn’t have Slim Fast for lunch today, only for breakfast.

I did alot of walking today, too…a few times around the block with the kiddo as well as a lot of walking when we visited “downtown” today. I would like to add more physical activity to my daily routine to complement my Slim Fast. I recently wrote an article on Kettlebell DVDs, and am considering purchasing Absolute Beginners: Kettlebell 3 in 1 With Amy Bento. We’ll see.

Day 1.7

January 2, 2012
Weight: 143.3 = -2.8 lbs lost

Slim Fast Review: Day 1.7

Chugging along

I absolutely hate being on a “diet” on the weekends–I don’t want to place blame (because really, it’s me that puts food into my mouth), but since my husband isn’t on a diet and eats whatever he wants, it makes for a not-fun weekend. We usually go out on the weekends, typically for lunch. I know I don’t *have* to drink Slim Fast for lunch every single day–I could instead make smart choices–and it makes it exceedingly difficult when we are sitting at Moe’s and I’m staring at my husband’s plate of nachos. Ah, I digress. I’m looking forward to getting back to work this week. so that my eating can be a bit more controlled. I figure that being on Slim Fast could help me lose 1.5 – 2 lbs. per week if I put my mind to it.

Let’s see how the numbers stack up today:

7:00 a.m.: Slim Fast (170 cal.)
8:00 a.m.: Apple with 1 tbsp. Peanut Butter (200 cal. – guesstimate)
12:30 p.m.: Slim Fast + some of my husband’s nachos :) (400 cal. – guesstimate)
3:30 p.m.: 1 light string cheese (60 cal.) + 1 Auntie Anne’s Original Pretzel (340 cal.–darn the mall!)
5:30 p.m.: Cereal + Milk (190 cal.)
7:00 p.m.: Ice Cream (250 cal.)
TOTAL: 1610 calories

Day 1.14

January 9, 2012
Weight: 142.3 = -3.8 lbs lost

January 7, 2012 - Day 14 (day 1.14). I look less bloated, no?

January 7, 2012 - Day 14 (day 1.14). I look less bloated, no?

January 7, 2012 - Day 14 (day 1.14). I look less bloated, no?

Slim Fast Review: Day 1.14

So, about those weekends...

So it’s been a week and I’ve lost one pound. You might be thinking, “one measly pound??” but I’m OK with it. Mainly because, I’ve discovered something: I HATE being on a diet on the weekends. It’s semi-easy for me to eat well throughout the week, but the second the weekend comes around, any Slim Fast plans I may have had go out the window. For me, it’s just too difficult to drink them (no matter how delicious they are!) while my husband eats “real” food. I suppose I could eat a sensible lunch and then do a shake for dinner, but for some reason, that’s hard for me.

I’d say on any given weekend, I have one splurge meal…when I say “splurge,” I go all out. This past weekend we did pizza and breadsticks. Yum. The next day I didn’t eat horrible, but I didn’t drink any Slim Fast. So, for basically one pound lost with being off-diet on the weekend, I’m OK with it. :)

I know I could lose more if I tried harder, but I’m happy with the slow and steady approach. I think I’m more apt to stick with Slim Fast longer-term (i.e. reach my goals) if I don’t beat myself up over it.

Tomorrow I plan to actually try a workout DVD before going to work (gulp). As long as my son sleeps through the night tonight, I’ll do it at 5:30 a.m. tomorrow. He’s been teething BAD and crying every now and again in the middle of the night and waking me up. I know, excuses right?

Day 1.26

January 21, 2012
Weight: 139.8 = -6.5 lbs lost

NOW Do You See a Difference? I Do!

NOW Do You See a Difference? I Do!

NOW Do You See a Difference? I Do!

Day 1.39

February 3, 2012
Weight: 136.9 = -9.4 lbs lost

Slim Fast Review: Day 1.26

Goodbye 140s...

Goodbye 140s…HELLO 130s. Ok, I’m at the very top of this, but still, it’s good to see a “3″ as the middle number on the scale finally. It’s also good to know that even though I don’t follow the Slim Fast plan exactly, I can still achieve good results. Slowly but surely is the name of the game with Slim Fast.

Right now, I’ve been drinking it in the mornings on the way to work, but for lunch, I’ve been opting for a salad rather than the shake (most days…some days I’ll do the shake). My salad is usually pretty basic: romaine lettuce, chicken (I like the Short Cuts Chicken [by Perdue, I think] since it’s already cooked and chopped. I get them at my local wholesale club, so they aren’t much more at all than buying regular chicken breasts) and a light dressing. I’m too lazy to chop up vegetables, but occasionally I’ll throw in some red onion, or even some peanuts.

I like that Slim Fast helps to keep me fuller throughout the day, even on days which I don’t drink the shake for lunch. Slim Fast works for me in two ways: it revs me up in the morning for breakfast and it teaches me portion control. Losing weight is all about calories in vs. calories out, right? If a shake is about 200 calories, then I know that if I forgo a shake for lunch I need to stay around 200 calories. Now, I can eyeball a salad and know what’s around that range. Because my portions have been more in control, I’ve been able to eat less when I do indulge in a big meal. Tonight my husband and I went to Outback Steakhouse for dinner. I couldn’t finish my dinner because my body wasn’t used to consuming that much anymore. Score one for Slim Fast! I will admit that I most certainly indulged in some cheese fries tonight.

One reader wrote me and told me that I wasn’t losing weight very quickly. This is true…and false. I’m losing about one pound per week, and as I’ve mentioned in previous entries, this is a-ok by me. Better to do it slow and keep it off than crash diet and gain it all back. Also, I don’t have a *ton* of weight to lose. Those who have, for example, 100 pounds to lose will lose a lot more at first than someone with 10 or 20 pounds to lose. There are other programs out there where you may be able to lose more quickly, however, I like that Slim Fast is sustainable (and cheap!).

Oh, and for those of you wondering, I DID in fact get up and work out that day I said I would. But, I’ve only done it twice total. It’s just SOOO hard to get out of bed. But the DVD that I got is Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred. It’s fantastic and only take up 20 minutes of my time! I really need to do it more as exercise is always the key to great results. Bonus: it’s less than $8!

One Jean Size Down!

One Jean Size Down!

One Jean Size Down!

Slim Fast Review: Day 1.39

One Size Down!

Yes! I’m officially down one jean size! I’ve only lost a few pounds in the past few weeks on the Slim Fast plan (remember, I’m following it loosely), but I’m excited to report I’m down one size in jeans.

I’m curious to know what you all think of my picture–it almost looks like there is no change, however, I am wearing the smaller pair of jeans than in the other pictures! I think my rear looks smaller, too.

In fact, that’s the part I wish you guys could see the most. I had a baby about a year ago, and I find my stomach is the last place where I lose weight–it ALWAYS comes off first in my upper thigh/rear end area. Unfortunately, those don’t make for pretty pictures, and it’s hard to see with jeans. But if you compare my latest pictures with the one from before I started Slim Fast, I think you will see a difference!

I’m still loving Slim Fast since it gives me a ton of energy to start the day!

Day 1.56

February 20, 2012
Weight: 135.1 = -11.2 lbs lost

Some more changes!

Some more changes!

Some more changes!

Slim Fast Review: Day 56

Hello Double-Digit Loss

Alright, when I first snapped this update’s pic and looked at it by itself, I was kind of disappointed. Sure, I knew I wasn’t 100% keeping up with Slim-Fast; I had to travel for work and when you’re eating with business partners it’s hard to whip out a canned meal! Bottom line, I was prepared for a bit of disappointment even though I had lost a bit more weight.

But, when I actually compared the images side by side, I was excited! The changes are subtle (no one on the street would notice), but I see some definite changes in my body. You can see there is a *bit* more room in my jeans in the tummy area. Also, my belly was somewhat more “up and down” in the last pic, whereas in this one is curves in ever-so-slightly. Yea!

I’ve been keeping up with the 30 Day Shred, too. Nothing hard-core (I haven’t the time), but maybe twice per week. So that’s a total of working out for about 40 minutes per week. The 30 Day Shred is a program in which you are supposed to do for–you guessed it–30 days. But, it has been building a bit of muscle for me, which I think is definitely helping.

I’ve been trying to make smart choices with food, but it doesn’t always happen. I do find when I drink Slim Fast in the morning, it sets me on the right track for the rest of the day. I’m more apt to make a smart lunch choice if I’ve had one of my shakes…mostly because I don’t want to “waste” what I already set out to do for the day.

Let me know what you thinking of my progress when comparing the pictures–do you see a difference?

UPDATE AS OF MARCH 8: Nope, I haven’t forgotten about you guys! I’ve been traveling A LOT for work and haven’t been able to stay on-plan. Therefore, I haven’t lost much (if anything) so my pics haven’t changed. More importantly, I can’t give an update about the Slim Fast plan because I haven’t been on it. I’m home for a few weeks though, so expect an update soon! As always, a few days before a planned update I’ll let you know. Please do leave me a comment below and let me know how you are doing!

Please post any questions you have below–you’ll see I’ve answered many questions about the diet. I’m happy to answer anything you need to know about Slim Fast!

UPDATE AS OF APRIL 30:I really wanted this webpage to be solely about Slim Fast. Due to a hectic work schedule and the fact that I’ve added in some exercising over the past several weeks, I can’t 100% say that Slim Fast has been THE thing that is helping me lose weight. As such, I’m marking this page as complete (for now). I wish all of you luck on your journeys. I hope you’ve seen that Slim Fast really can help you lose weight as long as you keep with it. I definitely recommend the plan to anyone who is ready to make a lifestyle change and is content with the weight coming off slowly and surely (no crash diets here!). If you are this person, Slim Fast can and will work for you! I’d love to hear about your successes!

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark this page and check back frequently as I post my progress! I'll post once every week or two with pictures!

Add this to your lens

Slim Fast Review: Does Slim Fast Work?

LNAngel's Bio

What's Your Weight Loss Story?

Please Post Your Slim Fast Review if You Have One (or leave encouragement!)

What have you tried? What have you found that works? What you found that doesn’t? I’d love to hear you feedback on any sort of diets that you’ve embarked on!
  • Follow
    Share to:
    Alert message
  • williamslaw Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:50 am
    Well, good work but I believe exercise is the best form of losing weight.
  • BevChap Feb 17, 2014 @ 11:53 am
    Just read this - great stuff! Will try!
  • juliarosa Feb 02, 2014 @ 12:56 am
    Losing weight and wanting to is not enough.
    Many people don't realize, the success comes a lot from your mind. Where your mind is, is where your body is going to follow.

    You have to eat, breathe, sleep your goal(s) in life.
    Do you have a picture of what you want to look like? Grab a picture from the internet of a body that you want to strive for and paste your head on it. Put this picture in at least 3 places in your home that you see every day. Make sure it's in front of you always.
    Become more conscious of your decisions. What you put in your mouth, what you put in your head.

    I am doing a program just for women that I found at inshapenow.net. Excellent support as well from other women who have done this lifestyle program.
  • Dec 05, 2013 @ 2:09 am
    Wishing you every success for your weightloss goals. The key is always consistency. Take it one day at a time and try and find foods that can really boost your metabolism and drink heaps of water. Don't give up- you can do it!
  • fanaticforfitness Nov 17, 2013 @ 8:37 pm
    Everyone wishing to lose weight should keep a diary like this one. Logging your progress definitely keeps you motivated and as you see the pounds come off you become inspired to try harder

See all comments

Advertisement

You may also like...

Lens of the Day

Labor Day in Pioche, Nevada

Celebrating Labor Day in Pioche, (pronounced Pee-oatch) Nevada is a unique experience. It's a small town...

Advertisement

Make your page on Squidoo!

Get started