For the longest time Skittles was the only candy that I couldn't find an alternative to. That was very depressing because I loved Skittles when I was a kid. I can remember watching Garfield and eating Skittles in a very particular order. Skittles used to have gelatin in them, but as of 2009 Skittles are no longer made with gelatin!
Always check the ingredients list. After three years it's very unlikely that there will still be old Skittles that still contain gelatin floating around, but it's still possible (and I don't know for sure that every type of Skittles no longer contains gelatin). Rumblings around the Internet
are that in the UK Skittles use non-vegan red dye, but US Skittles use Red 40 which is vegan red dye
. So, UK Skittles are still not vegan.
Starburst contains gelatin, so they are not safe for vegetarians to eat. However, Mamba chews are vegan and are an excellent alternative to Starburst. They don't taste exactly the same, but they taste good and they have the same texture.
Marshmallows contain gelatin, and while I never enjoyed marshmallows alone I did love s'mores. Fortunately there are vegan marshmallows made by Dandies. And of course store-bought Rice Krispie treats are not vegan-friendly. Glenny's makes vegan marshmallow treats that are just like Rice Krispie treats.
Most chocolate candy is vegetarian friendly so I've never had to give up most of my favorite chocolate candy (just Whoppers, which contain resinous glaze). But most mainstream chocolate contains milk products so they are not vegan friendly. Of course there is vegan chocolate around, but if you want more than just plain chocolate, then there are some alternatives to the most popular candy bars.
Crunch bars contain milk products. There are a couple of vegan rice crisp chocolate candy bars out there.
Mainstream peanut butter cups are vegetarian-friendly but contain milk fat. There are a couple of vegan alternatives available, however.
Snickers contains milk and egg ingredients, but there is a vegan nougatty candy bar available.
Milky Way candy bars contain milk ingredients, but Go Max Go has a vegan alternative.
3 Musketeers candy bars contain milk ingredients and egg whites. Go Max Go has a candy bar alternative with creamy chocolaty filling.
Almond Joy candy bars contain milk ingredients. If you enjoy coconut, Go Max Go has a coconut candy bar similar to Almond Joy.